Inside the Mind of a Blogger: Part II


Welcome to Part II of my mini blog post series on what inspires me to write, blog and nurture my creativity. Last week, I shared my love and passion for literature and how that influences me as a writer. If you didn’t read it, fear not: Click to read

Another area which significantly nurtures my creativity and inspires me is Art. In my eyes, there’s no universal definition for art because it’s subjective and transcends definitions. Art, as a general umbrella term, covers many things from writing, photography, illustrations and graffiti (Banksy) to paintings.

Having a one-size-fits-all  clear cut definition for Art and its breadth is like trying to catch raindrops with your bare hands.

One tiny fragment of this gloriously multi-faceted diamond which particularly inspires me is film. For me, films and the process of film-making is an art, a skill and a type of industry. Films act in the same way that books do; they are time capsules and reflect the state of society and culture at any given time. It can also be (rather boldly!) stated that some films attempt to mimic life, human relationships, struggles and emotion.

Here is a list of my top ten films- this was slightly easier than last week:

1. Amélie

2. El Laberinto del Fauno

3. La Haine

4. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

5. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow

6. Star Wars (all of them)

7. The Dead Poet’s Society

8. Volver

9. A Christmas Carol (the old school version)

10. 500 Days of Summer

Leave a Reply

